When is it, where is it hosted, and how to get tickets

Next year sees the return of the Women’s World Cup, with the Fifa showpiece heading Down Under for its ninth edition – one that promises to be the biggest to date.

Twenty-one teams have already qualified but there are still plenty of places up for grabs; the tournament will be expanded from 24 teams (in 2019) to 32 teams for the first time, as a marker of the surge in population and growth that the women’s game has experienced in recent times.

Another first in 2023 is that the tournament will be jointly hosted by two nations for the first time. Read all about that – and more – below.

When is it?

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will take place from July 20 to August 20, 2023. Scroll down for more information, but reports stating that the tournament might follow the men’s lead and move from its traditional summer slot have been quashed by Fifa.

Where is it?

The tournament will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, who beat Colombia to win the vote. Venues include those which will be well known to rugby fans, such as Eden Park (Auckland), Suncorp Stadium (Brisbane), and Stadium Australia (Sydney).

Which teams have qualified?

England have not yet qualified for the tournament, with two matches left to play in their qualifying group. The Lionesses, however, are currently top of their group table.

Neither Republic of Ireland nor Wales can qualify automatically but they are both still in with a chance of securing a spot in the play-offs. Scotland are assured a play-off place, which will take place in October.

The following teams have already qualified for the main tournament: Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, China PR, Philippines, Vietnam, Sweden, Spain, France, Denmark, United States, Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Zambia, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Colombia, Brazil.

How to watch

Broadcasting rights for the tournament have not yet been announced but the 2019 edition was shown exclusively by the BBC.

How to get tickets

Tickets are not yet on sale, with no date set for release, but fans can register interest on the official tournament website.

Who are the defending champions?

The US are the defending champions after they beat the Netherlands in Lyon in 2019.

How have England done before?

England have qualified for the Women’s World Cup five times. They have reached the quarter-finals three times and the semi-finals twice, most recently in 2019 when they were knocked out by eventual winners US.

Latest news

by Tom Garry, Women’s Football Reporter

Fifa discussed delaying next year’s Women’s World Cup, it has emerged.

With less than a year to go until the competition in Australia and New Zealand begins, organisers are insisting that the dates for the 2023 Women’s World Cup will not be changed, after it emerged that informal discussions had taken place this month about delaying next summer’s tournament by a few months. 

Telegraph Sport understands that, as revealed by L’Equipe, senior officials at world governing body Fifa are understood to have informally floated the idea of rearranging the event in conversations as recently as the past fortnight.

Three separate sources at three of Europe’s biggest national associations have confirmed that they were spoken about the feasibility of moving the event to October or November, instead of its current schedule from 20 July to 20 August. However, all of those sources stressed that the idea was never a formal proposal, and that their feedback had been that it was far too late to reschedule the competition, which is set to be the world’s most-watched sporting event in the calendar year of 2023.

The idea of changing the dates is understood to now not be being taken any further.

On Friday morning, a Fifa spokesperson told Telegraph Sport: “After a successful ‘One Year to Go’ event, the Fifa Women’s World Cup 2023 is scheduled to kick off on 20 July 2023. No changes to the dates of the competition are foreseen.”

Similarly, statements from the national FAs of the co-hosts in both Australia and New Zealand said they were not anticipating any changes, with New Zealand’s FA adding: “Our preparations continue for kicking off the tournament at Eden Park on July 20, 2023.”

The men’s World Cup, taking place later this year, was rearranged from it’s traditional June-July days to be played from 21 November to 18 December 2022, in a decision taken in 2018, so that it would not be played in the Middle East’s hottest temperatures.

Weather was also touted by one source as one of the reasons why informal conversations were being had about possibly moving the 2023 women’s event, which will take place in winter weather for the host nations down under. Others said the issue was related to concerns raised by a small number of international broadcasters that August dates were not optimum for the tournament, shortly after some of the broadcasting rights were put out to tender. However, Telegraph Sport understands a lot of the broadcasting rights elsewhere around the world have already been negotiated for significantly improved terms compared to the 2019 World Cup.

The topic of the international women’s calendar is a source of much debate at present, with a schedule for international windows not yet fully confirmed beyond the end of 2023. One date that is in the diary for 2024 is the Olympics, at which women’s football teams can pick their strongest, senior sides unlike the men’s teams, and it was announced on Thursday that for the first time in the history of the football competitions at the Olympics, the women’s gold medal match will conclude the event rather than the men’s, in Paris. The Olympic football tournaments run from 24 July to 10 August 2024. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.