Here’s how mayoral candidates are faring in metropolitan cities

In four of the remaining five metropolitan cities, mayoral candidates of the ruling alliance have maintained leads as of Sunday morning, with a 32-year-old independent candidate maintaining a comfortable lead in Kathmandu Metropolitan City, also the federal capital.

Alliance candidate Nagesh Koirala of Nepali Congress has secured the Biratnagar Metropolitan City mayor seat. CPN-UML candidates are trailing in all metropolitan cities except Kathmandu.

Here is the latest update on the mayoral race in the five metropolitan cities of the country.

In Birgunj, Rajesh Man Singh of the Janata Samajbadi Party is leading with 32,158 votes while Vijay Kumar Sarawagai of the UML trailing with 16,822 votes.

In Kathmandu, independent candidate Balendra Shah has stretched his lead by 17,245 votes. Shah has secured 39,515 votes while Nepali Congress Srijana Singh has garnered 22,270 votes.

In Lalitpur, Nepali Congress’ Chiribabu Maharjan has maintained a lead with 30,860 votes. UML’s Hari Krishna Byanjnakar has secured 18,201 votes.

In Pokhara, Dhanraj Acharya of the CPN (Unified Socialist) is leading with 40,434 votes. His close competitor is UML’s Krishna Bahadur Thapa who has secured 37,174 votes.

In Bharatpur, the most talked about metropolitan city this local election, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Renu Dahal is leading. She has secured 36,272 votes against CPN-UML’s Vijay Subedi who has garnered 28,418 votes. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.